Three New Executive Committee Co-Chairs Welcomed at PEMSEA Office

Monday, 19 December 2011

Three New Executive Committee Co-Chairs Welcomed at PEMSEA Office


Manila, Philippines — The PEMSEA Resource Facility warmly welcomed the new Co-Chairs of the EAS Partnership Council's Executive Committee on the occasion of the 9th Executive Committee Meeting in Manila, Philippines.


The new additions to the PEMSEA family are highly respected in their respective fields not only in their countries but also internationally. The Council Co-Chair, Ambassador Mary Seet-Cheng, is currently a Senior Specialist Adviser in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Singapore and also a non-resident Ambassador of Singapore to Panama and Cuba. The Intergovernmental Session Co-Chair, Undersecretary Analiza Rebuelta-Teh, is the Undersecretary of the Foreign Assisted and Special Projects Office as well as Chief of Staff of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) of the Philippines. The Technical Session Co-Chair, Prof. Chul-Hwan Koh, is a Professor of Marine Biology at the School of Earth and Environmental Sciences (Oceanography) in Seoul National University of the Republic of Korea.


The three Co-Chairs signed their Oath of Office in the presence of the Executive Committee Council Chair, Dr. Chua Thia-Eng and the Technical Session Chair, Mr. Hiroshi Terashima, together with the PEMSEA Resource Facility officers and staff on October 24, 2011.


The EAS Partnership Council elected the three Co-Chairs with the objective of ensuring continuity and a broader scope of the involvement in PEMSEA's leadership, which is crucial particularly with the ongoing transformation of PEMSEA. The current set of EC Chairs will serve up to 2013, after which time the Co-Chairs will automatically be elected by the Partnership Council as EC Chairs.


The EC is currently composed of the Council Chair, Dr. Chua Thia-Eng, Intergovernmental Session Chair, Dr. Li Haiqing, the Technical Session Chair, Mr. Hiroshi Terashima, and the PRF Executive Director as Secretariat, Prof. Raphael P.M. Lotilla.


Recent Articles