HomeNewsEas Partnership Council Welcomes Executive Committee Co Chairs

EAS Partnership Council Welcomes Executive Committee Co-Chairs

Busan, RO Korea — The Executive Committee (EC) of the East Asian Seas Partnership Council welcomed three new members during the 4th East Asian Seas Partnership Council Meeting, held in Busan, RO Korea, last 11-14 July 2011.

Recognizing the crucial role of the Executive Committee in moving PEMSEA forward, particularly in its tranformation process, the Partnership Council adopted a revised Executive Committee Structure and Turnover Mechanism. The Mechanism aims to broaden involvement and ensure continuity in PEMSEA leadership by providing for the election of Co-Chairs to the EC.

The nomination and election procedure followed a consensus-building process which involved all the PEMSEA Country and Non-Country Partners. The Partnership Council elected the following Co-Chairs:

Ambassador Mary Seet Cheng, from Singapore, to the position of Council Co-Chair;
Undersecretary Analiza Rebuelta-Teh, from the Department of Environment and Natural Resources of the Philippines, to the position of Intergovernmental Session Co-Chair; and
Prof. Dr. Chul Hwan-Koh, from Seoul National University of RO Korea, to the position of Technical Session Co-Chair.

The current EC members include Dr. Chua Thia-Eng, Council Chair; Mr. Hiroshi Terashima, Technical Session Chair; and Dr. Li Haiqing, Intergovernmental Session Chair.

The EC ensures the implementation of the Partnership Council decisions as well as provides expert advice or guidance to the Council and the PEMSEA Resource Facility. The EC meets during the intersessional period. The next meeting of the EC is scheduled to take place in the fourth quarter of 2011.